Gough, Christopher

Christopher Gough (b.1991) studied French horn and composition at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland from 2010-2014. After graduating, Christopher quickly gained prominence in the Scottish freelance scene and regularly performed with such orchestras as the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Scottish Opera and Scottish Ballet. Since then, he has been appointed Principal Horn of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, and guests as Principal with many of the other leading UK orchestras.

As a composer and arranger, Christopher is in high demand. Prizes which Christopher has won through his composition include the Music for Youth Composer’s prize, the RNCM Young Composer for brass band, and runner-up for the Associated Board International Young Composer’s competition. Christopher’s works have featured in many notable concert series such as the St. Magnus Festival, RSNO chamber series, Cottiers Chamber Project and the annual British Horn Society conference. He continues to write alongside a successful career as a professional horn player.

‘Pour une Perte’, was written by Christopher as a salute to the loss of his twin brother. The sentimental sound quality of the horn and large dynamic range are exploited by the piece’s long lyrical phrases and warm textures.

'Highland Calling' was written for the 2010 British Horn Society conference in Edinburgh for the RSAMD Horn ensemble and is designed so that the horn players can be placed around the room.

'Cattywampus', dedicated to Maurice Temple, was commissioned by the British Horn Society in 2017 and first performed at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland in October 2017 with Frank Lloyd as solo horn.

Chris Gough

Compositions in catalogue

Catalogue no.

Price £

To buy click PayPal links below



Horn Club series


Solo horn

Christopher Gough
Six horns      
Cattywampus for solo horn and five horns
Christopher Gough

Eight horns

Highland Calling
Christopher Gough

Cuivré series



Bagatelle Suite for brass quintet
Christopher Gough

Larger ensembles

Nosferatu (4tpt,2hn,4trb,tuba,2perc)
Christopher Gough

Chamber Music series


Horn and piano

Pour une Perte (For a Loss)
Christopher Gough
Wind Quintet        
Durham Scenes for wind quintet
edb 0705004
    Christopher Gough